Hardeeville, South Carolina High 72 Low 52
We went to see Fort Pulaski. It is on Cockspur Island. It was a Confederate fort built starting in 1829 and required $1 million dollars, 25 million bricks, and 18 years to build. It’s admires thought it was invincible and as strong as “The Rocky Mountains”. It was named for Count Casimir Pulaski, the Polish hero of the Revolutionary War, who lost his life in the unsuccessful siege of Savannah in 1779.
On January 3, 1861 two weeks after South Carolina succeed from the union, Georgia governor Joseph E. Brown ordered state militia to seize Fort Pulaski. By April 1861, 11 Southern states had left the Union and were at war with the United States.
The floor in this section burned in 1895, and it has been left unrestored to show some of the construction details.
On April 10, 1862 the Federal Troops from Tybee Island sent a boat with a flag of truce. They order the commander of Fort Pulaski, Colonel Charles Olmstead, to surrender. When he refused, the Federals opened fire. The Rebels were not overly alarmed because the guns were a mile away. They didn't know that new experimental rifle cannons were being used. After only 30 hours, after the wall was breached, threatening to blow up the Fort’s magazine, Colonel Olmstead surrendered. He felt it was better to save his men because if the magazine had blown up, the whole Fort and all the defenders would have been killed. As it was, there was only one casualty on each side.
|This section of the wall was damaged by cannon fire.|
After the Fort was occupied by Federal troops, the fort was rebuilt in six weeks by troops of the 48th New York Volunteers.
There is a small cemetery on the outside of the Fort.
|A beach on Tybee Island.|
|The light house on Cockspur Island, now not used.|
The Fort was used until the end of the war to house several political prisoners. After 1880 caretaker and lighthouse keepers were the only occupants. They soon left, and the Fort was left to the ever encroaching vegetation and animal life. In 1924 the Island was made a National Monument, and in 1933 restoration was begun in earnest by the CCC.
Today the Fort and surround land is administered by the National Park System. We enjoyed our visit.
This sign is for you Jan. They are along a five mile stretch of highway.
Thanks for visiting.